Answered: Abysmal Torrenting Speeds

Halp

I'm completely new to all this. I wanted a VPN mainly to obscure torrent downloads from my ISP without reducing speeds by more than 5-20%. I'm in the US and connected to the Montreal server to test a download on a fairly popular linux tutorial. Speeds were about 15 MB/s. I restarted the test on the same file and when the download started to spike up, i realized I was still using Montreal and disconnected. At the same time, I was messing a bit with the VPN settings. Speeds immediately dropped and never got past 15 KB/s. I tried different servers like London, different torrents, reinstalling qBittorent, and trying to return the settings to normal with, even using the reset networking button. The worst part is this 15 KB/s cap exists even while I'm not connected to any servers at all, so I really fucked this up. Everything else works properly and my internet speeds are 930 Mb/s offserver and up to 260 Mb/s onserver. I'm on windows 10 and haven't tinkered with windows defender or firewall. These are my VPN settings.

vpn1.PNG
vpn2.PNG vpn3.PNG vpn4.PNG vpn5.PNG vpn6.PNG

Wondering if the problem lies here or if there is anything I could do to fix it or at least repair my regular torrent speeds before I installed the VPN.

Solution
Not sure what is causing this then. It certainly doesn't have to do with the VPN.

Is this cap only happening in the torrent client? Are you sure that you did not throttle the download speed in the client? (In qbittorrent that is easily accidentally done by clicking on t he "speed-o-meter" in the bottom bar).